IDAHO POTATO PULSE

Famous Potatoes

Brought to you by the Idaho Potato Commission Website: www.idahopotato.com

Tomorrow is the last day to submit comments on the proposed federal rule that resolves the Mexican Trucking dispute. If you haven't submitted comments, please do so. If you have sent comments in, please read the below e-mail. We have learned that some comments may not have been received by the Department of Transportation. Please verify that your comments have been received and if not, please fax them in.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Many of the comments that we know have been submitted in support of the proposed Mexican Trucking plan (FMCSA-2011-0097) have not yet been posted to the regulations.gov website. In fact, NPC's comments that were submitted on April 20 have not yet been posted, leading us to inquire with the US Department of Transportation as to the reason why. USDOT acknowledged that they have no record of our comments and encouraged us to submit our comments have not yet been posted, we are encouraging everyone to check to make sure that their comments have been received by USDOT.

- 1. If you have already submitted your own set of comments, please take a minute to see if they have posted.
- 2. If they have not yet posted, please resubmit your comments via the web (<u>here</u>) **AND** by fax at 202-493-2251.
- 3. If you do resubmit your comments, we would strongly recommend that you print off the confirmation page with the tracking number and the fax confirmation sheet for your records.

If you would still like to submit comments to DOT, there is still time to do before the deadline of May 13 (tomorrow) at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time.

As always, if you have any questions on this issue or desire additional background, please let me know and I'll be happy to provide you that information.

DEAR COLLEAGUE

Chairman Doc Hastings (R, WA-4) circulated a Dear Colleague supporting the Obama Administration's proposed plan to resolve the ongoing Mexican trucking issue. I have attached a copy of it for your convenience. The current list of those Representatives who have signed is below. If you don't see a member of your respective delegation that you think should be on the list and you would like them to be on this letter, please contact them ASAP. Kate Woods in Chairman Hastings office is the contact and her email is <u>Kate.Woods@mail.house.gov</u>.

- 1. Doc Hastings (R, WA-4)
- 2. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R, WA-5)
- 3. Mike Simpson (R, ID-2)

- 4. Greg Walden (R, OR-2)
- 5. Dan Lungren (R, CA-3)
- 6. Devin Nunes (R, CA-21)
- 7. Henry Cuellar (D, TX-28)
- 8. Bill Owens (D, NY-23)
- 9. Tom McClintock (R, CA-4)
- 10. Kevin Brady (R, TX-8)
- 11. Michael Conaway (R, TX-11)
- 12. Dave Reichert (R, WA-8)
- 13. Ron Kind (D, WI-3)
- 14. Wally Herger (R, CA-2)
- 15. Tom Petri (R, WI-6)
- 16. Dave Camp (R, MI-4)
- 17. John Kline (R, MN-2)
- 18. Quico Canseco (R, TX-23)
- 19. Randy Neugebauer (R, TX-19)
- 20. Aaron Schock (R, IL-18)